Replying to You Make the Call
Posted 10 July 2018 - 06:48 PM
You have some no nothing hump at Williamsport giving some MSU ruling that contradicts what's in the RIM, (6.06 Instructor Comments), and also goes against OBR.
How could they miss on that ruling?
Unbelievable that they actually came back with the runner scores.
What the heck is LL thinking?
How are we supposed to have confidence in their rulings when they miss something that blatant?
Something needs to change.
Posted 10 July 2018 - 02:23 PM
The answer from the Janitor (Williamsport) is Final (even if it's wrong).
One question: Why would you call the Region/Williamsport before the Protest was made?
By the way, the LL Rim has the same comment as OBR (6.06 Instructor Comment in the RIM).
IF the manager had known about the RIM Comment he could have noted it in the Protest and the answer might have been different!
I'm not blaming the manager, Williamsport (The Janitor) just blew this one.
Posted 10 July 2018 - 12:46 PM
Manager of Defensive team Protest the call.
So LL called again, they go to Tournament Committee and after 10 more min came back with same ruling, no one out, live ball, runner scores.
So...being this was the championship game for the 11/12 Major Baseball. there is no further action that can happen, correct?
Posted 10 July 2018 - 04:15 AM
If LL follows the OBR interp/rule - as they do with just about everything, it's a dead ball, runners cannot advance. No one out.
OBR 6.03(a )( 3 and 4) Comment If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire’s judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing, it shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play.
Coach is right about the HS rule.
Posted 10 July 2018 - 01:46 AM
In 11/12 Baseball game last night with a runner on third, 1 ball and 1 strike, pitcher pitches the ball, batter swings and on the follow through hits the catcher in the head. passed ball, runner from third scores. the catcher comes out of the game for concussion. The defensive coach says in High School the batter would be out and the runner goes back to third. what's the call in Little League?
Posted 09 July 2018 - 10:38 PM
I would imagine the defense would have left the field after the 3rd out which means no appeal can be made.
I doubt they stayed on the field while Time was called and the DA was called on the phone.
Even if they were still on the field they cannot be told what the DA said, that would be providing assistance to the team.
I envision two scenarios:
1) Defense leaves the field after the 3rd out.
Ump says run counts.
Defensive manager disagrees/protests and call goes to the DA who rules run scores since no appeal was made at third.
2) Defense leaves the field after the 3rd out.
Ump says run does not count.
Offensive manager disagrees/protests and the call goes to the DA who rules run scores since no appeal was made at third.said
I wonder what actually happened???
Posted 09 July 2018 - 10:10 PM
Posted 07 July 2018 - 10:53 PM
Those rare 4th outs!
Posted 07 July 2018 - 09:43 PM
So, what did the Ump rule?
Posted 07 July 2018 - 09:36 PM
If R3 reached home before the touch of 2B then Yes, unless R3 is appealed for his failure to re-touch 3B (which can be done).
Here's a good one from 9/10s the other day.
Bases loaded 1 out.
Shallow fly ball to center. All runners take off assuming it will drop.
CF makes a great diving play to catch it in the air.
R3 crosses the plate. R2 at third base, R1 at second base.
CF jogs in a few feet and steps on second for the third out.
So you make the call, does the run score?
The out at 2B was an appeal of R2 failing to re-tag. It is an appeal, not a force. (Note: Because the fly ball was caught no one was forced anywhere)
Did someone blow the call?
Was there a protest?