A fielder is protected while he is fielding a batted ball.
Thanks. Umpire seems to be right but didn't explain exactly clearly. And it is not in the book.
Just how far the ball kicked depends on who you ask.
Neither of the teams playing were mine.
And apparently, there has been more than one issue with this particular player taking out kids, once even after the game was over. This will have to be watched.
If the ball has been kicked away he is no longer fielding a batted ball.
It's in the OBR which is the basis of the LL rules.