Jump to content


Replying to Pitched Ball Lodged in the Backstop?


Post Options

  or Cancel


Topic Summary

Jmlugo8511

Posted 16 April 2018 - 03:17 PM

Got it.
Thanks Rich.

richives

Posted 16 April 2018 - 05:03 AM

I just looked at 7.05(h), and it does not mention a ball lodged on the fence. It mentions the ball going over or through a fence or backstop.
So would it be a situation where that the ball is live and the runners move at their own peril?
Or
Is its still a 1 base award?


It's a lodged ball.
One base as it was a pitch.

Suppose it was lodged 9 feet up the backstop.
Gonna claim it's in play?

Jmlugo8511

Posted 15 April 2018 - 07:30 PM

I just looked at 7.05(h), and it does not mention a ball lodged on the fence. It mentions the ball going over or through a fence or backstop.
So would it be a situation where that the ball is live and the runners move at their own peril?
Or
Is its still a 1 base award?

richives

Posted 11 April 2018 - 06:24 PM

One base award - by the book.

Hendo37

Posted 11 April 2018 - 05:04 PM

I apologize if this is one that's been previously asked multiple times, but I've still got to ask.

 

Situation: Bases loaded and the count on the batter is 2 ball, 2 strikes.  Pitch in the dirt, (called a Ball, so now a 3 and 2 count on the batter) gets past the catcher and gets stuck in the bottom of the fence. 

 

My interpretation of 7.05 (h) is that it's a dead ball and all base runners move ahead one base without risk of being put out. 

 

Some of my fellow umpires are saying that they stay where they were, because of a couple of reasons.  They say that the runners were not trying to advance so they stay, or that because the batter did not become a batter-runner, they stay, as they were not forced to advance.

 

What is your understanding/interpretation of Little League's rule for this situation?


Review the complete topic (launches new window)