Jump to content


Photo

Clarification on Pitch Count / Days of Rest Please

Pitch Count

5 replies to this topic

#1 PA1631

PA1631

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 21 May 2014 - 04:48 PM

Tuesday Evening 12 year old pitcher, pitches 67 pitches which equal 4 days of rest.

Coach states that because he hit his 65th pitch he could finish the batter and require 3 days of rest.

As I read the rules for pitch count and rest, exceeding the pitch limit is stated only for the maximum amount of pitches a pitcher can throw according to their age, 12 year old would be 85 and if he was in the middle of an at bat the pitcher could finish pitching to that batter.

Am I missing language somewhere that states you can exceed a lower pitch count / days of rest to finish the current batter?

Thank you for your time in advance.



#2 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,093 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 21 May 2014 - 05:04 PM

The manager was correct.

There is a Threshold EXCEPTION, it was added to Regulation IV last year, here is the 2014 wording:
EXCEPTION:
If a pitcher reaches a day(s) of rest threshold while facing a batter, the pitcher may continue to pitch until any one of the following conditions occurs:
1. That batter reaches base;
2. That batter is retired;
3. The third out is made to complete the half-inning or the game.
The pitcher will only be required to observe the calendar day(s) of rest for the threshold he/she reached during that at-bat, provided that pitcher is removed or the game is completed before delivering a pitch to another batter.

So, in your case, the pitcher reached/passed the 65 pitch count threshold while pitching to his last batter so only 3 days rest is required.

#3 PA1631

PA1631

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 22 May 2014 - 02:37 PM

Thank you Mr. Barbieri for your time and the correct information.



#4 DCBaseball

DCBaseball

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 118 posts

Posted 22 May 2014 - 04:34 PM

What is not covered in the note is the pitcher/catcher restriction of pitch 41 or more and cannot catch...that is not covered by the note. Regardless of when the pitcher reaches 41 or more, if they do they cannot catch.



#5 PA1631

PA1631

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 23 May 2014 - 01:32 PM

Thank you Coach Paul.



#6 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,093 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 24 May 2014 - 12:36 AM

Pitcher to Catcher:
NOTE: A pitcher who delivers 41 or more pitches in a game cannot play the position of catcher for the remainder of that day.

Catcher to Pitcher:
Exception: Any player, who has played the position of catcher in four (4) or more innings in a game, is not eligible to pitch on that calendar day.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users