Jump to content


Photo

Changing a dead ball call mid play.


6 replies to this topic

#1 Jeremy

Jeremy

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  • Administrators
  • 1,335 posts
  • LocationNorthern California

Posted 11 April 2014 - 05:42 AM

Tonight in high school softball a ball was hit under the fence for what should have been a ground rule double, F9 and 8 put there hands up and so did the base ump but then the ball ended back on the field and the ump who put his hands up said it was live and that he never actually saw it role under.

Where can I find info on dead balls being reversed to live balls...?....It would seem once called dead the ump has to stick with the call, the play changed the outcome of the game and is under protest.

#2 Jeremy

Jeremy

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  • Administrators
  • 1,335 posts
  • LocationNorthern California

Posted 11 April 2014 - 07:00 AM

Click photo to enlarge

Lower Lake second baseman Emma Diener runs down a ball in the outfield on... (The Record-Bee)
LOWER LAKE -- The Cloverdale Eagles were on the verge of losing their first game of the season Thursday afternoon in Lower Lake before rallying for four runs in the top of the seventh, three scoring on a controversial play, to beat the Trojans 7-5 in North Central League I softball action.

A win would have moved Lower Lake (2-1 league, 9-3 overall) into a first-place tie with Clear Lake and Fort Bragg atop the league standings. Instead, Cloverdale, the defending NCL I champion, improves to 4-0 and 7-0 overall pending a protest that Lower Lake coach Chris Emberson will file regarding a key play that occurred during Cloverdale's winning rally in the top of the seventh.

Trailing 5-3 entering the seventh, the Eagles loaded the bases with one out for Amy Mora, who launched a shot into deep right-center field. The ball became lodged underneath a temporary fence in the outfield and the Lower Lake player nearest the ball threw her hands up to indicate she couldn't retrieve it, according to Emberson.

The base umpire signaled a dead ball, stopping the action, according to Emberson.

"He killed the play," Emberson said. "It should have been a ground-rule double, two runs should have scored, and runners should have been at second and third."

Cloverdale's baserunners stayed on the move throughout the play and Mora came all the way around to score. Adding to the confusion, according to Emberson, was that his outfielder briefly picked up the ball before dropping it although Lower Lake's coach said the play had been ruled dead by that point.

Three runs were allowed to score and the umpires sent Mora back to third base. She scored moments later on a wild pitch to make it 7-5.

Emberson said he is protesting the umpire's ruling because putting Mora at third base doesn't make any sense.

"She's either at second base or it's a home run, or whatever you call that play," Emberson said. "Once they called the ball dead, my girls stopped playing. Cloverdale's players kept running, but I don't blame them."

With the aid of several Cloverdale errors, Lower Lake scored four times in the bottom of the first inning to take a 4-2 lead. Alex DeGraw's RBI single in the third, the only hit of the game for Lower Lake against Eagles ace Teanne Edens, made it 5-2. Cloverdale got that run back in the top of the fifth to make it 5-3.

Edens struck out 10 and walked one while losing pitcher Shelbie Harris struggled with her control all day and finished with nine walks as well as six strikeouts. She allowed only three hits.

"We played some good defense behind her," Emberson said of Harris. "We had only one error. (Emma) Diener made some good plays at second base."

Lower Lake is back home today to play Kelseyville at 4 p.m.

#3 Mike_Hirschman

Mike_Hirschman

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,325 posts
  • LocationWinston-Salem, NC

Posted 11 April 2014 - 02:26 PM

You are in FED rules... have to see what previsions for "fixing a call" they have put into the books recently. NCAA and FED have both moved in that direction in baseball. May have done similar in softball. 



#4 Jeremy

Jeremy

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  • Administrators
  • 1,335 posts
  • LocationNorthern California

Posted 13 April 2014 - 03:58 AM

Here's the video, the coach from the other team that he ejected also didn't get ejected

https://www.facebook...152300732434280

#5 D. Michael

D. Michael

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts

Posted 13 April 2014 - 05:03 AM

Wow, that base umpire kicked that call big time :)



#6 Mike_Hirschman

Mike_Hirschman

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,325 posts
  • LocationWinston-Salem, NC

Posted 13 April 2014 - 01:45 PM

First, the video shows us nothing. 

 

Second, coaches are instructed to instruct their players that once you put your hands up, don't try to play the ball. According to your article, they tried to play it after signaling the ball was lodged, under fence, etc. 

 

Again, not sure what the FED provisions are. However, there is precedent to make an award for where the umpire feels the players should be. I really don't have a problem with the call. Coach shouldn't either since he could have made a four-base award. As a player, you don't signal it dead and then try to play it. EVER. And as the umpire, you are at the player's mercy in that situation. 



#7 richives

richives

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,123 posts
  • LocationOwego, NY

Posted 14 April 2014 - 02:08 AM

First, the video shows us nothing. 

 

 

It shows the BU calling time (via signal). The play is over.





Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users