Jump to content


Photo

Interference on Fielder While Fielding in Foul Territory


11 replies to this topic

#1 JM Lugo

JM Lugo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts
  • LocationSouthern California

Posted 12 September 2019 - 02:58 PM

Runner on 3B

Batter hits a slow roller towards 3B ON FOUL Territory.

Ball is starting to roll towards Fair Territory.

F5 moves to field the ball (still on Foul Territory but close to the Fair/Foul Line).

R3 starts towards HP, makes contact with F5, pushing the fielder towards foul ground and then F5 fields the ball on foul ground.

 

Is the call Interference?

Does it matter that the ball did not make it to fair ground, even though it looked like it was eventually going to make it to fair ground?

 

Thanks.



#2 richives

richives

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,159 posts
  • LocationOwego, NY

Posted 14 September 2019 - 05:16 PM

Runner on 3B

Batter hits a slow roller towards 3B ON FOUL Territory.

Ball is starting to roll towards Fair Territory.

F5 moves to field the ball (still on Foul Territory but close to the Fair/Foul Line).

R3 starts towards HP, makes contact with F5, pushing the fielder towards foul ground and then F5 fields the ball on foul ground.

 

Is the call Interference?

Does it matter that the ball did not make it to fair ground, even though it looked like it was eventually going to make it to fair ground?

 

Thanks.

 

It's rule 7.09(j) in the LL rule book.  The rule says a runner is out for interference if he interferes with a fielder making a play on a batted ball.  Notice it doesn't say fair batted ball. 



#3 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,192 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 14 September 2019 - 09:26 PM

What "play" does a fielder make on a ground ball in foul territory?

Foul pop-up down the third base line and runner bumps F5 while he is making a "play" on the foul fly ball, clearly interference.
On a ground ball in foul terittory, what's the runner interfering with?

Just asking!

#4 richives

richives

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,159 posts
  • LocationOwego, NY

Posted 15 September 2019 - 04:06 PM

What "play" does a fielder make on a ground ball in foul territory?

Foul pop-up down the third base line and runner bumps F5 while he is making a "play" on the foul fly ball, clearly interference.
On a ground ball in foul terittory, what's the runner interfering with?

Just asking!

 

The possibility of it going fair. Same interp for if a runner deflects a foul ball.  Did you see the video  weird foul ball that spun fair. Went 10' foul and spun back. Watch to the end - it shows on the replay

 

https://www.nbcsport...-against-giants



#5 amutz

amutz

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 911 posts
  • LocationNorCal

Posted 17 September 2019 - 12:26 AM

Rich's point stands but 99 times out of 100 I'm not making that call.   It would have to be very clearly going fair!  


  • rsnyder6 likes this

#6 richives

richives

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,159 posts
  • LocationOwego, NY

Posted 17 September 2019 - 04:00 PM

Rich's point stands but 99 times out of 100 I'm not making that call.   It would have to be very clearly going fair!  

 

And the poster said:  "Ball is starting to roll towards Fair Territory."



#7 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,192 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 17 September 2019 - 07:07 PM

But it wasn't fair, who knows if it would have rolled fair or not?
You can't make a call based on a what if.

#8 Robin Barradio

Robin Barradio

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 18 September 2019 - 04:49 AM

It's rule 7.09(j) in the LL rule book.  The rule says a runner is out for interference if he interferes with a fielder making a play on a batted ball.  Notice it doesn't say fair batted ball. 

Rich is correct on this one, but you have to take it one step further and use 7.09b to understand that if a batted ball has a chance to become fair, it is most certainly interference. Although 7.09b in the LL rulebook does not match up exactly to the OBR verbiage, I would still use the OBR interpretation, as I believe the green book is confusing on this rule. Use common sense and fair play.

 

From the LL green book (p106, 2019):

7.09 - It is interference by a batter or runner when -

          b. the batter intentionally deflects the course of a foul ball in any manner.

 

From OBR (old numbering system)

7.09 - It is interference by a batter or runner when -

          b. He intentionally deflects the course of a foul ball in any manner.

 

Looking in the WUM (Wendelstedt Umpire Manual), it gives a more detailed explanation of 7.09b. Basically stating that its interference if in the judgement of the umpire, the ball could have become fair.

 

Although in the OP's situation, the fielder never actually touched the ball, he did cause the fielder to alter his course of action, which resulted in the fielder touching a batted ball that could have become fair. Remember, prior to the fielder touching the ball, the ball is neither fair nor foul, nor is the ball dead. It is in fact, in play like any other batted ball. Remember how and when a ball becomes fair or foul.

 

In the OP's scenario, if in the judgement of the umpire, the ball had a chance to become fair, it is interference by R3 and he shall be declared out. 7.09j applies, like Rich said, the rule doesn't say fair or foul, it states (LL) "the runner fails to avoid a fielder who is attempting to field a batted ball,"  (OBR) " He fails to avoid a fielder who is attempting to field a batted ball," 

Call the runner out for interference.

 

Bonus question: If in this scenario R3 was called out for interference, what do you do with the BR?



#9 richives

richives

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,159 posts
  • LocationOwego, NY

Posted 19 September 2019 - 03:31 AM

But it wasn't fair, who knows if it would have rolled fair or not?
You can't make a call based on a what if.

 

Oh yes you can.  The MLB interp on interference with a foul ball is in the MLBUM (old rule number)

 

Official Baseball Rule 7.09© provides that the batter or runner is out for interference if he
intentionally "deflects the course of a foul ball in any manner." While picking up a foul ball or
otherwise touching it may not, by such act itself, actually deflect the course of the ball, an umpire
may judge such act as deflecting the course of the ball if, in the umpire's judgment, the ball
might have become a fair ball had it not been touched.
 
Just extending the concept to interfering with the fielder.


#10 richives

richives

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,159 posts
  • LocationOwego, NY

Posted 19 September 2019 - 03:33 AM

 

 

Bonus question: If in this scenario R3 was called out for interference, what do you do with the BR?

 

If the ball was foul he's back at the plate. If fair he's on first.



#11 Robin Barradio

Robin Barradio

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts

Posted 20 September 2019 - 12:19 AM

If the ball was foul he's back at the plate. If fair he's on first.

Yep!



#12 JM Lugo

JM Lugo

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts
  • LocationSouthern California

Posted 01 October 2019 - 11:48 PM

Ok, I got a clearer view on it.
Thanks



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users