Jump to content


Photo

HI-Fives Before Touching Home Plate


6 replies to this topic

#1 Jmlugo8511

Jmlugo8511

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts

Posted 15 April 2019 - 01:55 PM

Is there any specific rule which prohibits a Batter-Runner who hit a homerun from being congratulated (High-Fived) before touching home plate by a preceeding runner who had already touched home plate?

A HP umpire called the Batter-Runner out for what I explained.

#2 amutz

amutz

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 898 posts
  • LocationNorCal

Posted 15 April 2019 - 02:33 PM

A coach is not allowed to physically assist a player on the basepaths.
I'm not aware of any rule prohibiting a baserunner from assisting another baserunner.
I think the umpire got it wrong (especially in LL!)

#3 Gator Y

Gator Y

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 9 posts

Posted 15 April 2019 - 03:30 PM

The ball is dead after a home run.
What penalty are you enforcing?

#4 richives

richives

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,138 posts
  • LocationOwego, NY

Posted 15 April 2019 - 04:26 PM

A high five isn't assistance no matter who does it.
No penalty.

#5 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,121 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 15 April 2019 - 05:14 PM

So, what happened when your manager Protested the call? B)

As previously stated, it is not an out, the umpire was wrong.
The Rules for calling outs are in the rulebook, this is not one of them.

#6 Jmlugo8511

Jmlugo8511

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts

Posted 15 April 2019 - 10:21 PM

This scenario happened last Spring on an Intermediate Game.

It caused a ruckus with the parents. I was not present. I was told the story by the base umpire.

Last Saturday I did an Intermediate game with the same base umpire and same situation happened. I was the PU.

The base umpire told me that the batter-runner needs to be called out because he was high-fived by the preceding runner. before he touched HP. Obviously referencing the call he witnessed last Spring by the PU.

I told him "No, I do not think such rule exists" and challenged him to look it up after the game.

I have yet to hear back from him..

#7 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,121 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 16 April 2019 - 12:10 AM

Which is why the manager should have Protested.
Make it a learning moment for the Umpires.
Otherwise they just keep making the wrong calls!

I don't know why so many managers are afraid to Protest when it's appropriate.
  • amutz likes this



Reply to this topic



  


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users