7 replies to this topic

#1 ofina

ofina

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 67 posts

Posted 23 February 2019 - 04:03 AM

Alright folks, another question from me.  My googling is getting me nowhere.

In Minor AAA, where each team is scrapped after the season, and drafted fully the next, how do I handle it if a parent specifically requests that their child not be with a certain manager?

We always get requests for managers and I have a general script I follow to answer those, but this is the first time I have a request to not have a specific manager.  I'm relatively new to my role.

#2 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • 3,154 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 23 February 2019 - 04:14 PM

It's minors, if the parent has a justifiable reason for not wanting a child on a certain manager's team why not honor it?

We try to honor parent requests in minors but there are times when the answer is sorry, but no can do!

As long as the requests don't result in a stacked team/unbalanced teams, what's the harm?

#3 ofina

ofina

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 67 posts

Posted 25 February 2019 - 06:25 PM

But they go through a draft, so it's mostly out of my control as player agent.

When someone requests a manager, I usually say that it is a drafted division, so I can't promise anything, but we will do our best.  And then I will mention the requests upfront at the draft to the managers and then they can come to whatever agreement they want to between them.  The "gentleman's agreement" that is frowned upon.

I think I would take the same approach higher than minors too, if we ever have more than one team in any given division again.

I think I have decided in this particular case to say "John Doe is open to changing managers" if the manager in question tries to include him in the "gentleman's agreement".