Jump to content


Photo

Manager to Pitcher Signs


9 replies to this topic

#1 Jmlugo8511

Jmlugo8511

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 02 July 2018 - 09:54 PM

Tournament Play, 11U BB.

Manager sends signs to pitcher from dugout for pitch to be made.

Is this within the rules?
Is it considered a visit to the pitcher?

#2 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,052 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 02 July 2018 - 10:18 PM

8.01 says the pitcher takes signs from the catcher.
Normally the manager/coach signals the catcher who then signals the pitcher.

The manager signaling the pitcher (and catcher) at the same time is generally allowed/no big deal.

It is NOT a visit to the pitcher.

#3 amutz

amutz

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 886 posts
  • LocationNorCal

Posted 02 July 2018 - 10:20 PM

What rule would a manager be violating?
It's not against the rules.
It's not a mound visit.

It's definitely common for the manager or a coach to be signing pitches to the catcher.

That said, if the catcher doesn't know what pitch is coming too, it could be pretty bad in terms of outcome!

#4 Jmlugo8511

Jmlugo8511

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 02 July 2018 - 11:11 PM

I was under the impression that any communication from manager to the pitcher involving game strategy is considered a visit to the pitcher.

Thus, an umpire present when a pitcher may be injured and the manager is talking to him to ensure the conversation remains in the realm of the injury.

#5 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,052 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 02 July 2018 - 11:37 PM

A visit is just that, a manager/coach being granted time to visit the pitcher at the mound.
The exception being that if a manager/coach is granted time to talk to any defensive player that counts as a visit to the pitcher.

Injury time outs do not count as visits to the pitcher.

#6 richives

richives

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,109 posts
  • LocationOwego, NY

Posted 03 July 2018 - 03:20 AM

8.01 says the pitcher takes signs from the catcher.
 

 

No.

 

All the rule says is that the pitcher must be on the rubber when taking signs from the catcher. It doesn't say no one else can send signs. It doesn't say he has to be on the rubber when getting signs from the dugout. 

 

The rule was put in place because at one time in the past (which I remember)  in the NL the pitcher did not have to be on the rubber when getting the catcher signs while in the AL he did.  The rule just made it uniform.

 

No one with a clue sends signs directly from the dugout. My response to all the newbies in Ll was "the catcher needs to know what's coming".   (And in leadoff leagues the middle infielders have to know because it controls coverage.)



#7 OutdoorDad

OutdoorDad

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 45 posts

Posted 03 July 2018 - 08:04 PM

I’m sorry to hijack (well, not a lot, or I wouldn’t do it).

But was there a previous discussion on this board about those arm bands that the entire defense in softball seems to wear?

Coaches yelling 9 forty two green 19. Evens up, odd girls routine 63!

Like an old Bowery Boys Sunday matinee. (For those with a few miles under their belts)

Does that count as a trip to the mound?

#8 richives

richives

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,109 posts
  • LocationOwego, NY

Posted 03 July 2018 - 08:16 PM

I’m sorry to hijack (well, not a lot, or I wouldn’t do it).

But was there a previous discussion on this board about those arm bands that the entire defense in softball seems to wear?

Coaches yelling 9 forty two green 19. Evens up, odd girls routine 63!

Like an old Bowery Boys Sunday matinee. (For those with a few miles under their belts)

Does that count as a trip to the mound?

 

No



#9 amutz

amutz

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 886 posts
  • LocationNorCal

Posted 03 July 2018 - 08:37 PM

No

 

During my son's last babe ruth games (13-15yo) the entire dugout was yelling 'one clap'! or  'two claps'!  to the baserunner and batter.  The coach of course didn't even use 'claps' as signals except to indicate a sequence of signals is over.  Boys just thought it was hilarious and kept it up most of the game.  They were playing loose and having fun.   Youth coaches sometimes need to let the players play...



#10 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,052 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 03 July 2018 - 10:53 PM

I’m sorry to hijack (well, not a lot, or I wouldn’t do it).
But was there a previous discussion on this board about those arm bands that the entire defense in softball seems to wear?
Coaches yelling 9 forty two green 19. Evens up, odd girls routine 63!
Like an old Bowery Boys Sunday matinee. (For those with a few miles under their belts)
Does that count as a trip to the mound?


WHY would that be considered a Trip to the Mound?

As the Bard might say: this is much ado about nothing!!!



Reply to this topic



  


2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users