Injury to a pitcher
Posted 22 June 2018 - 12:11 AM
Last out bottom of 2nd inning. Pitcher takes a line drive off the forearm/bicep. She makes the catch and ends the inning.
She is now injured. Comes out in top 4th for a pinch hitter.
An inning later she’s feeling better.
Is there ever a time that she can come back in to pitch?
I said NO. Manager wasn’t pleased. He thought an injury exempted her and she could return to pitch.
Posted 22 June 2018 - 08:20 PM
Was she removed for an injury or was she just substituted for?
In tournament play, a player removed by injury or illness needs a doctor/ medical personnel approval to continue in the game.
Actually the rule just says the doctor or medical person gets the final say. IOW they can stop you from re-entering a player but they don't need to grant permission.
Example: Player scrapes an elbow. Coach washes it off and puts a band-aid on it. He does not need to ask permission to re-enter the player, however, if the medic thinks he should not go back in the re-entry can be stopped.
Reply to this topic
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users