League playoff game tied after 6 innings and suspended due to darkness
Posted 01 June 2018 - 05:13 PM
1. Minors Division baseball.
2. Double elimination playoffs.
3. Both teams played on Wednesday and lost. Both teams in the "losers bracket."
4. They played each other yesterday (Thursday).
5. Coming into the Thursday game, both teams had one player not eligible to pitch because of pitch limits/days rest requirements from the Wednesday games. The pitchers in question threw more than 20 pitches but less than 35 on Wednesday.
6. Both teams "removed pitchers from the mound" in the Thursday game.
7. Pitchers of record had the following pitch counts at the end of the 6th: visitors pitcher at 39 but started the last batter at 34, the home team pitcher was at 7.
8. The game will continue tomorrow morning (Saturday). The loser is out. The winner plays again Saturday afternoon.
Here we go!
1. The two pitchers of record are good to go for Saturday and pitch counts reset to zero. Pages 46 and 87 of the rulebook.
2. Pitchers removed on Thursday can not reenter as a pitcher on the Saturday continuation. Page 44 of the rulebook.
3. I need help with these two things:
a. A catcher that caught more than 4 innings on Thursday...is he eligible to pitch on the Saturday continuation?
b. A pitcher that threw 41 or more pitches on Thursday...is he eligible to catch on the Saturday continuation?
c. The pitchers that were not eligible on Thursday because they pitched on Wednesday and needed one calendar day of rest...are they eligible to pitch in the Saturday continuation?
Posted 01 June 2018 - 10:37 PM
3b - Regulation VI ( c ) NOTE
3c - Regulation VI ( a ) and ( d )
Anyone that pitches in the resumed game for the winners cannot pitch in the subsequent game on the same day. Minor players cannot pitch in two games on the same day.
- rsnyder6 likes this
Posted 04 June 2018 - 03:17 AM
The catcher-to-pitcher and pitcher-to-catcher rules specifically say "calendar day" and "remainder of that day", respectively.
Resuming/restarting games can get tricky in LL.
Yes, I often have to look the rules up, mostly because it comes up very seldom.
Slightly different, but had a coach try to move a pitcher to catcher after 46 pitchers because he "thresholded him."
Reply to this topic
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users