Jump to content


Photo

Infield fly rule and runner interference


5 replies to this topic

#1 SeattleSooner

SeattleSooner

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 24 May 2018 - 09:50 PM

Scenario:

1. Little League Minors Division baseball. "AAA" level.
2. Bases loaded. One out.
3. Lazy pop fly to F3. Plate umpire calls, "Infield fly rule. The batter is out."
4. R1 initially starts to 2nd base but comes back to 1st base.
5. On the way back to 1st base, R1 runs into F3.
6. F3 drops the pop fly.
7. R3 heads to home plate and called safe. R2 advances to 3rd base.
8. The field ump calls "time" and calls R1 out for interference.
9. The field ump returns R3 to third base, returns R2 to second base, and ends the inning for the third out.

This sounds right.
Runner interference like this can happen on infield fly rule, correct?

#2 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,022 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 24 May 2018 - 11:53 PM

Correct call(s).
The ump doesn't have to send the runners back, simply call 3 outs.
The run does not count due to the Interference.
  • SeattleSooner likes this

#3 SeattleSooner

SeattleSooner

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 25 May 2018 - 06:36 PM

Thanks Lou.

 

Let me change the scenario and get confirmation on something.  With only R1 (no R2 and R3 so no infield fly rule) on base but same scenario with lazy pop fly to F3, R1 interferes, and F3 drops the ball...an umpire can call both the runner and batter out for the runner interference, correct?



#4 amutz

amutz

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 872 posts
  • LocationNorCal

Posted 25 May 2018 - 06:53 PM

FWIW, we don't have 'infield fly' in minors in our league - simply because no play is 'routine' for the younger players.


  • rsnyder6 likes this

#5 amutz

amutz

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 872 posts
  • LocationNorCal

Posted 25 May 2018 - 06:54 PM

If there is no infield fly rule, then only the runner is out.  The batter gets 1B.

Thanks Lou.

 

Let me change the scenario and get confirmation on something.  With only R1 (no R2 and R3 so no infield fly rule) on base but same scenario with lazy pop fly to F3, R1 interferes, and F3 drops the ball...an umpire can call both the runner and batter out for the runner interference, correct?



#6 richives

richives

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,097 posts
  • LocationOwego, NY

Posted 25 May 2018 - 08:55 PM

Thanks Lou.

 

Let me change the scenario and get confirmation on something.  With only R1 (no R2 and R3 so no infield fly rule) on base but same scenario with lazy pop fly to F3, R1 interferes, and F3 drops the ball...an umpire can call both the runner and batter out for the runner interference, correct?

 

No. You need willful interference to get a DP.


  • SeattleSooner likes this



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users