Jump to content


Photo

Did he turn to 2nd? BR picked off 1st


9 replies to this topic

#1 amutz

amutz

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 888 posts
  • LocationNorCal

Posted 22 May 2018 - 04:00 PM

Interesting play with Matt Kemp tagged out at 1B.
Did he make the turn to 2B?
Ump says he did.
I couldn't tell.
How to decide?

https://www.mlb.com/...st/c-2070093083

#2 Plesh

Plesh

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,011 posts
  • LocationNorthern New Jersey

Posted 22 May 2018 - 06:07 PM

Here's a better video: https://streamable.com/5n71v

MLB video player is trash.

It's not much, but it's definitely not immediately returning to the base.

As he slows down you see him drift to his left, then he plants on his right foot and takes that big step with his left foot.

He knew it, which is why he dove back to the base.


Fantastic play by Wolters backing up.
You do that hundreds of times hoping you get to make a play like that.
Well done.

#3 Ron

Ron

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts

Posted 22 May 2018 - 07:00 PM

If he made that slight move but then turned back nonchalantly to walk back I don't think I could call him out.
The fact that he turned and ran back fast tells me his intent was to advance.
Close call.

#4 richives

richives

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,122 posts
  • LocationOwego, NY

Posted 23 May 2018 - 05:15 PM

 . . he made that slight move

 

So call it.


  • Ron likes this

#5 Ron

Ron

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts

Posted 23 May 2018 - 06:47 PM

I know Rich, I know.  But the first time I watched the video at full speed I was on the fence.  When I watch it now, knowing what to expect, I see it. 

 

Maybe it's because I've been around the 12-15 year old players recently that should know better, but sometimes flinch toward 2B.  I haven't actually had a play on them yet, but the day will come.



#6 richives

richives

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,122 posts
  • LocationOwego, NY

Posted 24 May 2018 - 05:16 AM

I know Rich, I know. But the first time I watched the video at full speed I was on the fence. When I watch it now, knowing what to expect, I see it.

Maybe it's because I've been around the 12-15 year old players recently that should know better, but sometimes flinch toward 2B. I haven't actually had a play on them yet, but the day will come.


I saw it called on a head fake at a LL all-star game and not a peep from the kid's coaches.
Umps knew.
Coaches knew.

#7 SeattleSooner

SeattleSooner

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts

Posted 24 May 2018 - 09:59 PM

What timing! I got this question the other day.
Batter beats the throw like Matt Kemp did but veers sharp to the right into foul territory after touching 1st base.
The batter/runner is in foul territory, makes an aggressive move toward 2nd base, stays in foul territory, then stops before crossing the line and heads back to 1st base.
If he's tagged before getting back to 1st base, what's the call?
Is he safe because he's in foul territory?

#8 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,080 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 24 May 2018 - 11:24 PM

Doesn't matter which way he turns, if he makes a move/attempt to advance towards second, he is in jeopardy of being tagged out.
  • amutz and SeattleSooner like this

#9 Plesh

Plesh

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,011 posts
  • LocationNorthern New Jersey

Posted 25 May 2018 - 12:28 PM

That's definitely one of the most common misquoted rules in baseball.
It doesn't matter if the runner turns right or left, is in foul or fair territory, it's whether or not he/she makes an attempt to go towards second base.
  • SeattleSooner likes this

#10 SeattleSooner

SeattleSooner

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts

Posted 25 May 2018 - 02:40 PM

Doesn't matter which way he turns, if he makes a move/attempt to advance towards second, he is in jeopardy of being tagged out.

Thanks Lou!
Always appreciate your timely responses and insight.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users