Jump to content


Photo

R1 touches gound ball in fair territory


4 replies to this topic

#1 SeattleSooner

SeattleSooner

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 24 April 2018 - 09:02 PM

Here's the scenario:

 

1.  Bases loaded.

2.  Batter hits hard ground to the right side into the hole.

3.  On the way to 2nd base, R1 touches the ball.  It did not go through or by a fielder.

4.  The play is dead and R1 is called out

 

Couple questions:

1.  What happens to the batter?  Awarded 1st base?

2.  What about R2 and R3?  Back to their bases?



#2 amutz

amutz

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 866 posts
  • LocationNorCal

Posted 24 April 2018 - 09:26 PM

Batter gets 1B.

R2 and R3 return to their bases.

 

If R1 deliberately interfered with the ball to break up a double play, then batter may also be declared out.


  • Plesh likes this

#3 richives

richives

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • LocationOwego, NY

Posted 24 April 2018 - 09:54 PM

Batter gets 1B.

R2 and R3 return to their bases.

 

If R1 deliberately interfered with the ball to break up a double play, then batter may also be declared out.

 

This ^^^^^^^^^^^^^

 

And "deliberate" must be really obvious.


  • amutz likes this

#4 amutz

amutz

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 866 posts
  • LocationNorCal

Posted 24 April 2018 - 10:22 PM

The 'deliberate' interference on the ball is certainly both uncommon and unlikely to be OBVIOUS.
I've never seen it happen.
I added it for completeness but from a little league perspective it might be more harm than good to include that possibility!

#5 richives

richives

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,092 posts
  • LocationOwego, NY

Posted 25 April 2018 - 01:57 PM

The 'deliberate' interference on the ball is certainly both uncommon and unlikely to be OBVIOUS.
I've never seen it happen.
I added it for completeness but from a little league perspective it might be more harm than good to include that possibility!

Runner stops in the path of the ball to let it hit him.
Runner swats or kicks the ball.
Obvious.

The actual rule says

"(f) If, in the judgment of the umpire, a base runner willfully and deliberately interferes with a batted ball or a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ball with the obvious intent to break up a double play, the ball is dead. The umpire shall call the runner out for interference and also call out the batter-runner because of the action of the runner. In no event may bases be run or runs scored because of such action by a runner;"
  • Plesh likes this



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users