Jump to content


Photo

No hitter?


3 replies to this topic

#1 Jeremy

Jeremy

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  • Administrators
  • 1,334 posts
  • LocationNorthern California

Posted 20 April 2018 - 12:26 AM

Fifth inning, no hitter.

Girl drops one in right field and beats the throw from F9 to F3, called out because of thrown bat.

Is it still a no hitter?

This was a school game.
I know in LL a thrown bat isn’t an out, it’s either a warning or an ejection.

#2 Jamief

Jamief

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 405 posts

Posted 20 April 2018 - 12:42 AM

No.

Bad rule.
I’d score it a hit with the runner out once time is called.
Throwing the bat shouldn’t be an out, ever.

It’s like the must slide rule.
I’d warn the player and the next time she’ll be spending the rest of the game on the bench.

#3 richives

richives

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,116 posts
  • LocationOwego, NY

Posted 20 April 2018 - 03:04 PM

Fifth inning, no hitter.

Girl drops one in right field and beats the throw from F9 to F3, called out because of thrown bat.

Is it still a no hitter?

This was a school game.
I know in LL a thrown bat isn’t an out, it’s either a warning or an ejection.

I don't think it's an out in any Official Rule Set.
Check with the Umpire Association to see if it's a Local Rule.
If they say No, let them know what happened so they can train their Umpire.

#4 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,066 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 20 April 2018 - 03:17 PM

The obvious question:
So what happened when the manager Protested the call? B)
  • rsnyder6 likes this



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users