Jump to content


Photo

WHAT ABOUT THE RUNNER?


2 replies to this topic

#1 Jmlugo8511

Jmlugo8511

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts

Posted 15 March 2018 - 06:49 PM

Rule 6.06 c1, Batter is out for interfering with the catcher's fielding or throwing by; stepping out of the batter's box.

Had a situation last night dealing with this rule.
The batter was out for interfering with the catcher's throw to 3rd base on a steal attempt.

Question, is the runner allowed to keep 3B, or or is the runner returned to 2B?

#2 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,089 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 15 March 2018 - 09:15 PM

Why would the runner be allowed to advance on a play that the batter was called out for interfering with the catcher trying to make a play on the runner?
Why should the runner benefit from the batter's interference?

Batter is out, runner(s) return - see (a) under the Definition of Interference in 2.00.

#3 Jmlugo8511

Jmlugo8511

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts

Posted 17 March 2018 - 12:39 AM

Thanks Lou, that makes sense now.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users