Jump to content


Photo

OBR - Batters Interference question


No replies to this topic

#1 stan.staziak

stan.staziak

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Locationsterling, va

Posted 25 September 2017 - 03:15 AM

Situation

 

16U Travel ball using OBR

 

R1 only - R1 goes on the pitch (stolen base attempt)

 

Batter swings and his follow-thru hits the Catcher in the wrist of the glove hand and hits it hard enough that the Catcher just crouched over holding his wrist on the glove hand.

 

Batter called out by HPU for Batter interference - R1 back to 1st and Batter is out

 

1. Was that the right call

 

2. What is the rule citing on that.

 

The closest that I could find (using google on my phone at the time) was 6.03.a

 

If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire's judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing, it shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play.

 

If I am correct (big if) then the batter should not have been called out right?

 

 



#2 richives

richives

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,116 posts
  • LocationOwego, NY

Posted 25 September 2017 - 03:17 AM

The thing you found was the correct thing because it was on the backswing.

 

It's relatively recent so if you had an old-timer ump he might not have refreshed himself recently. 



#3 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,070 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 25 September 2017 - 07:40 PM

So, what happened when the manager Protested !!! B)

#4 stan.staziak

stan.staziak

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Locationsterling, va

Posted 26 September 2017 - 01:13 PM

Our regular manager was suspended for the DH for getting run the prior league game.
So we had one of the assistants run the team and he was clueless as to how to make a substitution much less protest.
He mildly protested the call and didn't get very far.
One parent (not me) was pretty vocal about it and turned out to be correct.
It took me too long on the phone to pull up the rule and by the time I found it, play had moved forward.
There are no protests in travel ball. Umps decision is final.
We keep standings but they don't mean anything as there are not any PO's or trophy for the best winning percentage.

I was just curious for my own benefit.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users