Jump to content


Photo

TOO MANY PLAYERS ON THE FIELD


14 replies to this topic

#1 JML8511

JML8511

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 28 June 2017 - 06:03 PM

11U All Star Game.
R2, Batter gets clean hit to F9.
R2 rounds 3B and heads for Home.
While the play is going on, the offensive team's next batter comes out from his dugout (3B side) to get the bat in fair territory and almost gets in the way of his own runner heading home.
The throw goes from F9 to F1 to F2.
The player getting the bat does not get in the way of the throw or the play at home.
Runner declared safe by HP Umpire.
Defensive manager wants "Obstruction or Interference, because there were too many players from the other team on the field."

Does Manager get the call he wants?

#2 B_Hanlon

B_Hanlon

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 623 posts
  • LocationPomfret Center, CT

Posted 28 June 2017 - 06:28 PM

No he does not, the player is the next batter and has the right to leave the dugout, 

That being said the umpire should give them a good lashing about what could have happened.



#3 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 2,863 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 28 June 2017 - 06:46 PM

Doesn't sound like the "additional player" interfered so this is a nothing, play stands

Ump should warn player and manager after the play.

#4 rsnyder6

rsnyder6

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts

Posted 28 June 2017 - 09:29 PM

I'm guessing he or she did say "Obstruction or Interference," as coaches almost never remember which is which. :)

Oh, and I think you have to actually interfere to get interference. 



#5 Jeremy

Jeremy

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  • Administrators
  • 1,307 posts
  • LocationNorthern California

Posted 28 June 2017 - 10:44 PM

Ump should warn player and manager after the play.

What would the warning be?
That there's a chance if they do that again they could interfere with the play?
or something harsher?

#6 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 2,863 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 28 June 2017 - 11:11 PM

Warning is: Stay off the field while the ball is in play!

HTBT but since the runner was safe, I could envision a case where an umpire could rule that the extra offensive player running onto the field "confused" the fielder thus affecting the throw so it was Offensive Interference.

#7 Jeremy

Jeremy

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  • Administrators
  • 1,307 posts
  • LocationNorthern California

Posted 29 June 2017 - 02:54 AM

What would be the consequence if they did it again but didn't interfere..?

#8 JML8511

JML8511

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 29 June 2017 - 10:04 AM

I was the umpire of that game. I saw the extra player on the field but judged that the player did not interfere or confuse the defense.
The defensive manager was told this, but he just wanted a call to be made for the "extra player on the field", which there was none.
  • Jeremy likes this

#9 JML8511

JML8511

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 29 June 2017 - 10:05 AM

I did have a talk with the offensive manager and told him to manage his team and keep all players in the dugout until the play had ceased, which he understood.
  • rsnyder6 likes this

#10 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 2,863 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 29 June 2017 - 11:42 AM

I have no problem with the call if the Umpire judged there was no interference.
I would also have no problem if the Umpire had judged there was interference.

Jeremy: as for the consequence of it happened again, what is the normal consequence of a recurrence of an action for which the umpire has issued a warning?
Maybe another warning, maybe an ejection!

#11 rsnyder6

rsnyder6

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 225 posts

Posted 30 June 2017 - 02:44 AM

I think the penalty is five yards.


  • OutdoorDad likes this

#12 Plesh

Plesh

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 945 posts
  • LocationNorthern New Jersey

Posted 30 June 2017 - 12:13 PM

"Baseball players are smarter than football players. How often do you see a baseball team penalized for too many men on the field?" ~ Jim Bouton


  • rsnyder6 likes this

#13 richives

richives

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,046 posts
  • LocationOwego, NY

Posted 30 June 2017 - 03:18 PM

I have no problem with the call if the Umpire judged there was no interference.
I would also have no problem if the Umpire had judged there was interference.

Jeremy: as for the consequence of it happened again, what is the normal consequence of a recurrence of an action for which the umpire has issued a warning?
Maybe another warning, maybe an ejection!


He interfered with his own runner and you'd call it?
We'd have words.

#14 OutdoorDad

OutdoorDad

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 30 June 2017 - 08:26 PM

I think the penalty is five yards.


I believe this is the correct ruling. Added to the beginning of the next inning if committed on the third out in the bottom of an inning.
  • rsnyder6 likes this

#15 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 2,863 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 30 June 2017 - 09:56 PM

Obviously if he interfered with his own runner tough luck.
But, if he interfered with the fielder then: Houston, we have a problem !!!



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users