2 replies to this topic

#1 coach andy

coach andy

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 258 posts

Posted 02 June 2017 - 03:20 PM

I am AC in minors softball for our league this year,  I was a Manager last two years, so I know most of the girls in the division (3 teams).  Armed with this knowledge, and after discussions with Manager who was selected (actually no other manager in division wanted it) for 10/9/8 AS (he asked me at a BOD meeting what I thought of the girls on the team I am AC for besides my daughter and one other girl) I am pretty much assuming my daughter will make AS (in our league, division managers vote for 12, top 10 + 2 manager picks make team) (I know, should not assume this, but it is 99% safe, of course I keep that to myself).

couple of days ago, I sent email to AS Manager when he was going to start collecting paperwork, as I know there was a district meeting coming up where they were going to be signing off on AS paperwork.

He comes back that team is not finalized yet, but that he does not think we should/will field a team, as two players from his team (good players, the one probably best player in the division) are not available for for districts, and the one is not available for anything.  and also, he and some of his players will have a weekend obligation around the time of sectionals (all our districts and sectionals are scheduled for weeknights, but weather is always a factor).  He indicated we should not fill a team just to fill a team (we have a lot of 8s and 7s in minors, as we have no coach pitch softball) if the talent level does not warrant it. (we did both agree, if we do not field a team, we at least name one).