Photo

Youth Arm Injuries - Anyone Surprised ???

7 replies to this topic

#1 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • 3,066 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 30 May 2017 - 11:18 PM

An increase in youth BB arm injuries/surgeries - anyone surprised?

https://www.Yahoo.co...-parenting.html

#2 richives

richives

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,116 posts
  • LocationOwego, NY

Posted 31 May 2017 - 04:13 AM

Public service announcements by the MLB pitching coaches.
Airs twice during every MLB game broadcast.

#3 Lou Barbieri

Lou Barbieri

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • 3,066 posts
  • LocationThe Villages, Florida

Posted 31 May 2017 - 03:57 PM

Better late than never !!!

#4 Ron

Ron

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 107 posts

Posted 31 May 2017 - 05:28 PM

I have not seen a lot of injuries at the Majors and below.  This is my first time in Juniors and I am seeing 3 boys with sore arms including my son.

My son (13) after playing 8 years of LL, including 2 years of travel ball at the same time, started complaining a month ago of a sore elbow.  He is primarily pitcher/catcher/SS.  I immediately went on protection mode.  Sat out for a couple of weeks.  No throwing. Rehab and medication.  Started him back throwing and got him back in the game as 1B so he could have minimal throwing. 

After another week things looked good and he went in as a relief pitcher.  After one inning he was starting to get sore again.  We are taking this seriously as the Tournament season is about to start.

This is the first year I am not his Manager, and his first year at a 60-90 field in Juniors.  I don't have total control over what is going on with assignments but luckily the Manager does listen to me because I speak from being an injured youth baseball pitcher that was overworked.  I am not letting him play pitcher or catcher.